TourismTourism in Colombey-les-deux-églises
A tourism area is located in the Memorial hall
The village of Colombey-les-deux-églises has many tourist attractions and you are most welcome to spend the day in the village.
On the Memorial’s site :
The Cross of Lorraine
|Notre-Dame des otages
As a result of shootings by the FFI on 19 August 1944, around forty men from Colombey-les-deux-églises were rounded up in reprisals.
When they were imprisoned in Chaumont, the hostages made a promise to raise a statue to the Virgin if they managed to survive. Holding to their promise, the statue was unveiled on 24 August 1946 by Mgr Chiron, Bishop of Langres, and was attended by Madame de Gaulle.
It is 2.20 metres tall, and weighs 620 kg.
The historic home of General de Gaulle.
The village of Colombey-les-deux-églises became famous for being chosen by General de Gaulle, who bought a property there, La Boisserie, on 9 June 1934. A place of reflection and writing for the man of 18 June, La Boisserie imbues the visitor with its simple family atmosphere. Now open to the public, it allows the visitor, via the dining room, drawing room and the office, to immerse themselves in the private life of Charles de Gaulle and his family.
Tél. : 03 25 01 52 52
The tomb of General de Gaulle :
In accordance with his wishes, Charles de Gaulle was buried in the cemetery in Colombey-les-deux-églises next to his daughter Anne, and his stone has a simple inscription : « Charles de Gaulle 1890 -1970 ».
His wife Yvonne is also buried beside him, as is his son-in-law, General de Boissieu, Companion of the Liberation.