Reopening Saturday, January 31, 2015
More information on opening hours

The different offers

Home › › Tourisme › The Boisserie

The Boisserie

History of La Boisserie
Charles de Gaulle’s office
Agrandir l'image Charles de Gaulle’s office
View from the General’s office.
Agrandir l'image View from the General’s office.

Nestling amid 2 and a half hectares of verdant parkland, La Boisserie was built around 1810. In the 1930s, the building was showing signs of wear and tear. Its owner decided to sell it through a life annuity system.
Lieutenant-colonel de Gaulle bought it in 1934. At the time he was married with three children.
The house was within his modest income, and was geographically situated between Paris and the Eastern garrisons, where servicemen were often posted.

However, he was won over by the isolation and peaceful surroundings, suitable for thinking and military writing. The De Gaulles first spent their holidays at La Boisserie, and thereafter visited it on a regular basis. The De Gaulles modernised the house towards the end of the 1930s, and installed electricity and running water. .

It was to become their permanent residence in 1946. The link between Charles de Gaulle and Colombey-les-deux-églises become even stronger in 1948 with the death of his daughter Anne, who is buried in Colombey-les-deux-églises and beside whom he wished to be buried.

It was to La Boisserie that he invited the German Chancellor Konrad Adenauer in 1958. The event, which was unique for its time, underlined the deep attachment the General had for Franco-German reconciliation and European reconstruction.

Following his defeat in the referendum of 1969, he returned to his office and wrote the first chapters of his Mémoires d'Espoir (Memoirs of Hope). Death prevented him from finishing his work : on 9 November 1970, he died of a ruptured aneurysm in the library. He would have been 80 years old shortly thereafter.







Keep up to date by subscribing
to our newsletter :